20th Anniversary Gala Celebration

Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

Saturday, November 7, 5:30pm

Health Sciences Innovation Building (HSIB),

1670 E. Drachman Street (map)

University of Arizona Health Sciences campus, Tucson, AZ


For 20 years, the Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health has been building healthier communities locally, nationally, and globally. That’s 20 years of touching lives across Arizona, 20 years of transformative education for students, 20 years of delivering programs that improve health outcomes for everyone from infants to grandparents.


Come celebrate all we have accomplished together at the 20th Anniversary Gala on Saturday, November 7, 2020.


Iman Hakim

Introductory Remarks

Dean Iman Hakim

Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
University of Arizona

Michael Dake

Welcoming Remarks

Dr. Michael Dake

Senior Vice President for Health Sciences
University of Arizona Health Sciences


Hosted in the stunning new Health Sciences Innovation Building (watch the video) on the University of Arizona Health Sciences campus, Gala guests will enjoy an enchanting evening of original artistic performances, special tributes, and a few exciting surprises.


Lupita Murillo

Mistress of Ceremonies

Ms. Lupita Murillo, KVOA Channel 4 News

Bobby Rich

Master of Ceremonies

Mr. Bobby Rich, 107.1 FM, The Drive radio


Planning Committee

Co-Chairs JoAnna Westcott and Nicole Zuckerman-Morris

Roxanna Apaez
Kim Bourn
Bernadette Capossela
Camille Coyle
Allison Duffy
Norma Gentry
Donna Knight
Jan Konstanty
Lupita Murillo

Shipherd Reed
Tracy Sole De Hoop
Dana Tanner
Chris Tisch
Marja Walker
Linda Welter
Wylie Westerbeke
Lorraine Varela
Amy Zuckerman


Parking lots near the Health Science Innovation building will be designated for the Gala event parking. Lots near Helen Street and Martin Ave, and near Cherry Street and Drachman Street, will be available for guests. For questions about parking accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Bernadette at 520-626-2948. Advance notice is required for special accommodations.



The Gala will pay tribute to the contributions of several Honorees, both organizations and individuals, who have made a powerful impact on community health in the Tucson region and beyond. Many of the Honorees are alumni from the College who have used their expertise in public health to make positive change on a national or global scale. 


Zuckerman Family Foundation

Impacting positive change in peoples’ lives and enhancing the Southern Arizona community

Dr. G. Marie Swanson

Founding Dean Emerita
Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

Dr. Mark Smolinski

President, Ending Pandemics
Medical Epidemiologist

Dr. Richard Carmona

17th Surgeon General of the United States; Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona; Chief of Health Innovations, Canyon Ranch

Neelam Sethi

Global Volunteer and Child and Arts Advocate

Dr. Frank Marcus

Professor Emeritus, University of Arizona College of Medicine

Dr. Carlos “Kent” Campbell

Global and Malaria Health Expert; Retired Public Health Physician and Malaria Strategist

Arizona Complete Health

Transforming the Health of the Community, One Person at a Time

Community members and organizations interested in 20th Anniversary Gala sponsorship opportunities, tributes, tables, or tickets should go to the Buy Tickets! page on the website for more information.